Skip to content

I suppose you could try turning your monitor on its side…

I ended up saving a blank word document in landscape and sending it to him to use as a template. I’m now waiting for the note asking if we need special paper to print it on.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. bigsheepcommunications permalink

    Please tell me he’s not head of the IT department!

    • Thanks bigsheep,

      No, thank God he’s not in charge of IT. The results could be disasterous. Frighteningly, though, his sharp mind is charged with shaping public policy. That might even be worse (and explain a few things too).

  2. at least you can decipher his language! points to you!

    • I worry sometimes about how readily I’ve learned to decipher his post-it notes. Not too sure what that says about me. Fortunately, every now and again he throws me one that is completely bizarre and that I can’t make heads or tails of.

  3. Holy nincompoops, John, you are a strong man. This one really takes the cake.

    • Hi Missey,

      Holy nincompoops! I’m going to have to share that with the team. We may have a new motto.

  4. I think I would have used a landscape picture as background ๐Ÿ™‚
    Or maybe you should find a cheap landscape painting and write all over it?

    • Ha! I’ll have to remember that one for when he asks me how he can change his computer back so that he can write in portrait!

  5. I’m sorry, I don’t even get what this post it was supposed to mean.

    • Not to worry…I think it’s scarier that I did. My boss wanted to write a document using a “landscape’ format but didn’t know how to change the orientation in Word. If he weren’t an idiot he might have said “How do I change the page orientation to landscape in Word?”

      But, alas, he is an idiot.

  6. I am suspecting now that your boss is related to the girl at my company who is (and has been) in charge of creating and distributing PowerPoint templates for team use. And until Friday (when I mentioned it) did not know anything about PowerPoint Design Templates (.pot files). It’s FINE not to know that, unless of course it’s your JOB to know it. Which makes me just want to ask how she got that job, in much the same way I wonder frequently how your boss got his. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks gringita,

      I’ve wondered on numerous occasions how my boss managed to get his job. He really has no knowledge, no leadership skills, no communication skills and is fairly unlikeable. He’s moved around a fair bit in his career so I’m wondering if he’s one of those people that get “shifted” rather than dealt with.

      Best of luck with PowerPoint girl.

  7. ๐Ÿ˜† @ “special paper” You have to let us know if you get that question.

  8. The fact that time will elapse between his typing and needing to know how to print also says something. I’d like to believe you are on candid camera and this will all be a spoof in the end just so I don’t have to believe people like your boss are actually in roles of authority.

    Please tell me you have nice co-workers and work that you like to do making the time in your office bearable!

    • I do have some very nice coworkers and actually really enjoy my job. If it wasn’t for that, I’d almost certainly have moved on.

      I hope you’re wrong about the candid camera option. Something tells me that -SF- would not be pleased with my responses.

  9. alison permalink

    “Grab your laptop and head outside. Sitting under a tree works best. Tricky, because writing in landscape is weather-dependent.”

    • Ha! That’s perfect. I’ll have to remember that one for next time. Because, yes, if history is any indication I should get this post it note about 4 more times before the end of the next fiscal year.

  10. please tell me he inherited the position from his super brilliant father and the company keeps him on in honor of his father who was genius enough for the both of them??

    • Sorry…

      It’s the slightly less romantic version. Landed the job in his 20s and fumbled around for a while until he managed to somehow take a low-profile management job. Stayed under the radar long enough that people just assumed he must be competent and used him to plug holes whereever they came up. He tends to take a job, ruin the department and then get moved up, over or around before anyone really notices the damage and is able to associate it with him directly.

      Sigh….Sorry, it was a 3 post it note day.

  11. Thanks for another laugh John! Very funny “posts” here!

  12. The more I read these, the more I wonder how your boss IS your boss. I’m sure you’re not the only one who sees his ignorance. Hmmm.

  13. I am really not sure how you have managed to keep a straight face! I would spend most of my time rolling around the floor in hysterics!!

  14. Okay, this one made me literally LOL, not just smile and type “LOL”.

  15. holdontoyourpants permalink

    This is the most hilarious thing ever.
    I hope one day your boss finds this by accident, and shows you because he finds it hilarious that someone’s boss is so simple… not at all realizing it is him/her/them.

  16. Maybe he should turn his desk? Or write sideways from bottom to top?

Trackbacks

  1. As a Graphic Designer, I can relate to comments like this. Too funny! | GoAna Blog

Leave a Reply

